Colorado is a beautiful state and it's no small wonder that there are so many motorcycle riders who live in the state and travel there to take in the scenery. If you live in the state of Colorado and you want to ride a motorcycle, there are a few things you need to know. To legally operate a motorcycle in the state you must possess a motorcycle endorsement. Each state has its own set of rules and regulations for operating motorcycles and Colorado's are a bit different than some other states. If you're unfamiliar with the process or how to go about getting this important license, here is everything you need to know about getting your motorcycle endorsement in Colorado.
How to operate a motorcycle legally in Colorado
Colorado law mandates the possession of a valid driver's license along with a motorcycle endorsement to legally operate a motorcycle on public and private roads. The process for obtaining an endorsement is not difficult, but there are a few steps involved. You are required to pass a series of tests, or prove that you have completed an approved training course. Here are two ways to possess your motorcycle endorsement for Colorado
Motorcycle Operator Safety Training course
If you enroll in a motorcycle operator safety training course and show proof of completion, you can bypass a few of the requirements set forth by the Department of Motor Vehicles in Colorado. Upon completion of the course, you are required to present your license waiver card and pay the fees for a new driver's license with the added motorcycle endorsement. This is a way of simplifying the process. It's highly recommended for new riders because the course prepares you for exceptional situations that can occur, along with skill-building instruction.
Pass the required tests at the DMV
The second option is to make an appointment with any Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles agencies. You will be required to show your valid Colorado driver's license, pass the motorcycle written exam, and purchase a motorcycle instruction permit at this time. The permit will allow you to practice riding on the roads, but it does come with some restrictions. You must schedule an appointment to take the motorcycle drive skills test. Upon passing, you must purchase a new driver's license with the added motorcycle endorsement at a driver's license office.
Two types of motorcycle endorsements
In the state of Colorado, there are 2 types of motorcycle endorsements. The M endorsement allows you to operate both two and three-wheel motorcycles. The 3 endorsement is specific for only three-wheel motorcycles. The rules apply to all roads in Colorado, both public and private.
How to study for your tests
Every motorcycle rider should obtain a copy of the Colorado Motorcycle Operator's Handbook. The manual is available at. This manual contains information about the rules of the road as they pertain to motorcycles, including requirements for equipment and gear, restrictions for motorcycle permit operators, and all of the information that is included in examination questions.
Requirements for age 18 and over
Permit Bike advises that applicants over the age of 18 are required to pass the motorcycle written test, the motorcycle operators driving skill test, pass the vision test, pass the physical aptitude review, and undergo a review of the driving record. New driver licenses are $21 with a $2 fee for adding the M endorsement to the Colorado driver's license.
Requirements for minors
Applicants under the age of 18 years old but purchase a $14 motorcycle instruction permit. You must be between the ages of 16 to 18 years of age to be eligible to apply for a motorcycle endorsement, however, riders can obtain an instructional permit at the age of 15. You must provide an affidavit of liability and guardianship (parental permission), and have in your possession a motorcycle instruction permit for 12 months. All applicants 15 to 16 years of age must complete the Motorcycle Operator Skills Training program with the completion card as proof. Only then will you be able to get the instruction permit.
Restrictions for instructional permitted operators
The permit allows you to drive under the direct and immediate supervision of your motorcycle operator skills training instructor, or a parent/ guardian. They may grant permission to ride with another adult with a valid Colorado driver's license with an M endorsement if they are at least 21 years of age or older.
Free Practice Tests for 2021
Driving Tests Colorado provides a free practice test for riders interested in obtaining their Colorado License Motorcycle endorsements. The practice test includes the potential questions that will be asked on your written test. All information is taken from the Colorado Motorcycle Operator's Handbook. The test is intended to help you prepare to take your official state exam. It does not count towards passing, but it can show you where you need further study.
It's recommended that motorcycle operators take the Motorcycle Operator's Safety Training course to help prepare for safe riding on Colorado roads. Safe completion of the course will allow you to waive the written and skills exams with the Department of Motor Vehicles. This course is not required for anyone who is over the age of 18, however. You may choose to go the traditional route of taking the required exams with the DMV to obtain your motorcycle endorsement. The state of Colorado no longer provides motorcycle licenses, but rather, adds the endorsement to your regular Colorado driver's license. It's recommended that you get your free copy of the Colorado Motorcycle Operator's Handbook and study the contents to help prepare for your exams. Thorough knowledge of the contents is required to pass the written portion of the DMV exams. We wish you luck in your endeavors to obtain a Colorado Motorcycle endorsement.
Written by Benjamin Smith
Read more posts by Benjamin Smith