10 Books Similar to Harry Porter

Harry Potter

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (or Sorcerer’s Stone) was published 25 years ago, while the last Harry Potter film came out ten years ago. The influence of the Harry Potter books upon the community and the sense of awe is undeniable, regardless of your age or whether you were one of the people who stood in line for each new book at midnight or are only discovering the series today as you read it to your children. The Harry Potter Book is one outstanding book. The Harry Potter books are a coming-of-age story that develops with their youthful audience.

Harry and his companions are 11 years old when the first novel, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, is set. For children of similar ages, it is an ideal introduction to the genre of fantasy literature. Most people’s favorite characters are nearly adults by the end of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.

There is more darkness and a higher reading level, making it ideal for Harry Potter fans who are now adults. Yet, like the conclusion of any well-liked book series, this one is also disheartening. After reading the book, you might wonder what the next book to dig your face into is, and here are the 10 books similar to Harry Potter that you can try out!

10. The Wonderful Wizard of OZ by L. Frank Baum

Since its publication in 1900, “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz” has captivated younger audiences worldwide. Dorothy is a young girl who, along with her worn-out Uncle Henry, Aunt Em, and their dog Toto, resides in a Kansas house with only one room. According to Good Reads, the only bright spot in the lives of Dorothy and her two elderly relatives, Uncle Henry and Aunt Em, is their dog, Toto.

When the cyclone sweeps up their home and takes it for a long ride, they are still inside. Dorothy arrives in a beautiful world inhabited by incredibly short, curiously clad people when the house finally touches down.

It is the Witch of the North who informs Dorothy that she has arrived in the realm of the Munchkins, who are grateful to her for killing the Wicked Witch of the East and setting them free after the house lands on her.

Flying monkeys and witches populate the country of Oz. Three new companions join Dorothy and Toto on their adventures: a tin man, a cowardly lion, and a scarecrow. They decide to travel to see the mighty Wizard of Oz, hoping that he will award them a desire and enable Dorothy to get back home.

9. Worst Witch by Jill Murphy

Mildred Hubble and Miss Cackle’s Academy for Witches existed before Harry Potter and Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Jill Murphy’s The Worst Witch, which she illustrated, has been reprinted in a fresh new design. Besides the fact that Mildred is not as skilled with a wand as Harry, she also does not have Hermione to help teach her the ropes.

In spite of this, Mildred can survive the many magical antics she engages in throughout this revitalized series, which is capturing the attention of a younger generation of readers. Brace yourself for some magical chaos, and hang on to your broom!

The cherished classic by Jill Murphy Those between the ages of 5 and 9 will enjoy The Worst Witch, an original tale set in a magical boarding school. A student at Miss Cackle’s Academy for Witches, Mildred Hubble, is making a terrible mess of things.

According to Owlcation, the book allows one to create a magnificent imaginary world to better understand and relate to it. If you’re interested in reading this book, you can pick it up in stores like Target, Walmart, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Bookstore.

8. The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani

The novella recounts the adventures at a fantastical institution called The School for Good and Evil. Children from around the world are abducted in pairs; one goes to the school that teaches goodness, and the other goes to the school that teaches evil. Agatha and Sophie are two young ladies who eagerly anticipate being driven to their respective schools.

Sophie is completely devoted to doing good deeds and believes she is qualified to enroll in the school of good. With her vile personality, Agatha seemed to be a good candidate for the school for evil. One of the girls will study to become a hero from a fairy tale, while the other will learn how to become a villain.

But as both girls look for their real happily ever after, a chain of unforeseen circumstances causes their paths to diverge in unexpected ways. However, the girls are taken aback when they discover that, contrary to their expectations, they have been accepted into the institution. They soon concluded that this was a carefully planned placement to expose the girls’ authentic selves.

Readers will like the beautifully imagined universe in which the action never ceases since it is not as “princess” as it might seem. This book is fantastic for middle school students who enjoy imaginative fiction like Harry Potter.

7. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Is there a place where darkness exists? What if the creatures under your bed and behind your closet door were physical manifestations of evil? For this reason, author Leigh Bardugo says she created the Shadow Fold, a place of near impassable darkness that sets the tone for the first book in her bestselling Grisha trilogy.

Alina Starkov, an orphan, and her best friend Mal are serving in the army of the war-torn sovereign country of Ravka when they are attacked on the Fold, an event that triggers the awakening of a dormant power in Alina: the ability to summon light, and quickly elevates her to the ranks of her country’s magical elite.

Alina has her life uprooted from under her. She is taken to the royal household to be taught to become a member of the magical elite commanded by the shadowy Darkling, the Grisha.

However, not all of this opulence is as it seems. Alina must face the mysteries of the Grisha, and the depths of her heart as the kingdom hangs in the balance and death threatens. Get a copy of this great book from Amazon for $5.80.

6. Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

Following in the footsteps of Harry Potter as one of the most widely read book collections is Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson and the Olympians. Percy Jackson, who was 12 years old when the first book in the series was published, continues to age during the series, just as the individuals in the Harry Potter novels do. According to Book Browse, the first book in the Percy Jackson series was published in 2003.

Percy uncovers that his dad is the Greek deity Poseidon in the first book of the series, and he is subsequently transported to Camp Half-Blood along with other children who have divine parents.

From there, he goes on a mission to the Underworld to recover a lightning bolt that had been stolen. The Titan’s Curse, The Lightning Thief, The Sea of Monsters, The Last Olympian, and The Battle of the Labyrinth is the titles of the individual books that make up this series of five books. If you are a Potterhead or appreciate magic-related books, you will not get bored.

5. The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman

Readers are transported to a universe similar to their own in the first book of Philip Pullman’s popular fantasy series His Dark Materials, where every individual comes into being with an externalized soul that manifests as a talking animal, or “daemon.”

This is how Lyra Belacqua’s story, which takes place when she is eleven years old, begins. Lyra overhears a talk about a mysterious substance called “Dust,” which sends her on a long journey to the far north.

Lyra discovers a whole new world outside of her protected life in Oxford as she tries to save her closest friend from a group of child snatchers known as the Gobblers. This world is home to armor-clad polar bears and witch tribes.

It is among the perfect books one should read after they are done with the Harry Potter series as it brings a thrill similar to the one reading Harry Potter. The Golden Compass book is available at Amazon for a reasonable price of $ 8.99 if you want a hard copy and free if you are reading from the app.

4. The Magic Misfits by Neil Patrick Harris

At its core, Harry Potter is indeed a two-part hero’s journey and a one-part whodunit. The Magic Misfits, the middle-grade debut book by actor Neil Patrick Harris, follows that formula for literary success. When street magician Carter, orphaned, runs away from his conman uncle, he finds himself in a little town that quickly comes under attack from a cunning carney and his evil Frown Clowns.

The colorful, ragtag group of buddies Carter joins to preserve the village will be loved by Harry Potter fans who want further adventures alongside young Harry, Ron, and Hermione! Get yourself a copy today and enjoy this fantastic book.

3. His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman

A map that points in the direction of the truth is what this book is. The ability to slash through dimensions with this dagger is fascinating and inviting. A deadly intergalactic battle will be fought for a mystery particle. Lyra Belacqua is the headstrong and resolute protagonist of this gloomy and scary tetralogy.

According to Uwadis, this critically acclaimed trilogy comprises three books: The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, and The Amber Spyglass. Lyra Belacqua and Will Parry are the protagonists, and their story is told here. These two preteens from different worlds embark on a perilous journey together, meet armored bears and fallen angels, and travel through haunted worlds.

In the narrative, these two characters are going north, a region known for child abductions and is also the location of Lyra’s terrifying uncle. Although she is only a young child, Lyra is determined to embark on a journey to rescue her companion Roger and bring about a transformation that would affect the entire planet. The books have received a lot of praise.

2. Pennyroyal Academy by M.A. Larson

The books in the Pennyroyal Academy collection are similar to those in the Harry Potter series, although they are set in the world of traditional fairy tales. The characters in this three-book series go to Pennyroyal Academy instead of Hogwarts. There, they are trained to become knights and princesses under the leadership of teachers Fairy Drill sergeant and Rumpledshirtsleeves.

Holly Black writes the series. The Pennyroyal Academy books create an intriguing fantasy world by fusing a sense of humor, and magical mischief, and action to tell the story of a young girl called Evie and her pals as they face off against dragons and witches.

It is suitable for readers in the middle grades looking for books comparable to Harry Potter. The New York Times exclaims that the book is “a breathtakingly thrilling novel,” and that the protagonist, Evie, “deserves a special place in the emerging pantheon of strong, feisty, and, perhaps, admirable literary princesses.”

Since this book is a series, you will have more than one book to read as the Pennyroyal Academy is followed by The Shadow Cadets of Pennyroyal Academy and the Warrior Princess of Pennyroyal Academy.

1. Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

Despite its depiction of the darker side of magic, this novel is ideal for fans of the Harry Potter series. This is a book with a lot of gloomy themes. Because of this, the book is preferably ideal for older teens and adults at large.

It’s nearly comparable to what would happen to Harry if he got lost in Nocturnal Alley when he didn’t know what magic was yet. In both tales, youthful heroes are forcibly drawn into a different planet and engage in titanic conflicts between forces of good and evil.

After stopping to rescue a girl who was bleeding on the sidewalk and falling through the cracks to London Below, an ordinary London businessman named Richard Mayhew finds himself in a city that is both unsettlingly similar and disturbingly unfamiliar to his own.

If Richard ever wishes to return to his normal life, he will have to learn how to survive in this unknown Underworld full of monsters, killers, and angels simultaneously.

You can also read:

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.